IRC Faculty Committee


Bylaws of the Instructional, Research, & Clinical Faculty Committee of the UCCS Faculty Assembly 

Adopted by the IRC Committee: November 7, 2023

Approved by the FRA Committee:  December 1, 2023

Article I – Introduction

The name of this committee shall be the Instructor, Research & Clinical Faculty (IRC) Faculty Assembly Committee. The IRC Faculty Assembly Committee derives its power from the Constitution and Bylaws of the UCCS Faculty Representative Assembly.

Article II – Purpose

The purpose of this committee shall be to represent the IRC faculty as a standing committee at the Faculty Representative Assembly meetings.  The committee shall also address IRC faculty concerns on campus and lead various IRC faculty initiatives.

Article III – Membership

The committee shall consist of six to ten IRC faculty members, attempting to have at least one member from each college and the library. The desired minimum number of representatives from each academic unit shall be:

College of Business - one

College of Education - one

College of Engineering and Applied Science – one

College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences – four -- one member from each division (Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences) plus First Year Writing & Rhetoric

Kraemer Family Library – one

Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences – one

College of Public Service – one (preferably a clinical faculty member)

  • The term of membership shall be three years, with staggered, annual expiring terms.  Co-chairs are expected to serve terms of three to four years. 
  • Existing members are expected to assist in identifying their replacement from their respective colleges prior to completing their term. 
  • Vacancies shall be filled according to the Faculty Representative Assembly bylaws.
  • Members have a responsibility to attend regularly and participate. After three unexcused absences, the chair may request replacement of the committee member.
  • At least one member shall serve as the campus representative to any existing corresponding system-wide committee.
  • Due to the size of the College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences (LAS) and the large number of LAS IRC faculty, one of the co-chairs will be designated from LAS and the other will be from another college.
  • Due to the large size of First Year Writing faculty, there should always be an IRC Committee member from First Year Writing and Rhetoric.

Article IV – Officers

The committee members shall elect a chair or co-chairs who shall assume office on the first of July. The chair(s) has the following responsibilities:

  • Ensure that the committee meets regularly.
  • Notify committee members of agenda and meeting times.
  • Submit written committee reports to the Faculty Representative Assembly Executive Committee as directed by that committee.
  • Inform the Faculty Representative Assembly president of any vacancies that should be filled.

Article V – Meetings

Meetings shall be held once a month during the academic year or as needed. All committee meetings shall be conducted according to the Rules for Small Committees as specified in the latest edition of Robert’s Rules of Order.

  • Although guests may attend IRC Faculty Committee meetings, only current IRC Faculty Committee members may cast votes on items pertaining to faculty governance (i.e. Faculty Assembly).  A voting member may cast only one vote per item per meeting. Voting may be conducted synchronously by assent or asynchronously as needed.  Asynchronous votes will be conducted via web form open for no less than three business days after the regular meeting of the IRC Faculty Committee.   

Article VI – Amendments

  • These bylaws may be amended at any regular meeting by a quorum vote of the members present and entitled to vote, provided the proposed change has been submitted to the members in writing at the previous meeting and all absent members notified that a vote will be taken at the next regular meeting. In order for a vote to be considered, a quorum of 7 members must be present and/or participate.  The vote will pass with 51% or more of the vote.